Cultural Competence or Cultural Humility? A Roadmap for Lactation Specialists

Time-frame: 75-90 minutes
CERP: yes

This session reviews the ethical call for the development of cultural competence. Five areas of cultural competence—including cultural awareness, knowledge, skill, encounters, and desire—are presented and contrasted with cultural humility. This session also offers 10 “guideposts” for lactation specialists to explore on the non-linear, lifelong, transformative journey of cultural humility.

Cynthia Good, MS, LMHC, IBCLC, CATSM

Country: United States
Phone number: 425-320-4710